Mihail Mishev Wins Journalist-hope in Valya Krushkina Competition

December 09, 2023
Mihail Mishev Wins Journalist-hope in Valya Krushkina Competition

AUBG student Mihail Mishev was awarded first place in the “Journalist-hope” category at Valya Krushkina competition for his investigative work titled “How 667 people donated BGN 460,000 to DPS on the same day.” The piece was written as part of the platform of the AUBG’s Post Society Club, of which Mihail is a founder. The club aims to awaken society’s political and social engagement by preparing the future generation of leaders in the fields of civic society, politics, and journalism.

“Although I do not consider myself a journalist, I thank the nomination and the award. I believe that it is right that everyone should have the opportunity to say what they think, write what they want and stand up for what they do.”

On his page, Mihail thanked Kaloyan Konstantinov and the team of Klin/Klin for the mentoring.

In the same category, there were two more nominations from members of the Post Society club, Nicole Kishkin (’23) and first-year student Maria Hristova. Nicole was nominated for her piece “Rewriting History in Hollywood Style” while Maria covered the challenges in front of the students who could not attend their final exams for medical reasons and apply for high school.

The 2023 Grand Prix went to Boris Mitov of www.svobodnaevropa.bg for three stories he has authored: “The Unsolved Blasts in the Shadow of Russia’s War in Bulgaria”; “A Dead-End Street: How Not to Investigate the Planting of Drugs on a Journalist”; “I Don’t See Working Institutions”.

The Valya Krushkina Fund named the winners in the 12th edition of its journalist contest. The Fund was established at the Workshop for Civic Initiatives Foundation as a memorial to veteran TV journalist Valya Krushkina who died in 2012. The Fund has two main purposes: to support the treatment of children with cancer and “brave Bulgarian journalism with a human face”. The awards are intended to distinguish responsible and objective journalism. The contest is open to members of print and electronic media, Internet sites and blogs, and practitioners of civic journalism.