University Committees

The American University in Bulgaria relies on university committees for advice to key administrators on matters of policy.

AUBG Committees Image

AUBG Committees

    • Chair: Krasimir Spasov
    • Faculty: Krasimir Spasov, Michael Cohen, Todor Popov
    • Students: Miroslav Yordanov, Mihail Mishev
    • Staff: Ilko Drenkov, Sava Stoyanov
    Membership: Faculty: 3 (from different Departments); Staff: 1; Students: 2.:

    Reviews allegations of academic dishonesty, plagiarism, or other forms of academic misconduct, and makes recommendations to the President for suspension, dismissal, or other appropriate action for persons found responsible for sufficiently serious violations.

    • Chair: Robert White
    • Faculty: Ilya Levine, Krastanka Bozhinova, Lyubomir Terziev
    • Staff: Rengin Nalbantova, Maya Parmakova, The Chair holds the third staff seat
    Membership: Faculty: 3, Staff: 3:

    Reviews the academic progress of students, determining whether students are maintaining good academic standing, and whether those whose performance falls below the levels articulated in University policies are subject to academic warning, probation, suspension or dismissal. The Committee will monitor the progress of those students on probation to determine whether the conditions of probation have been satisfied.

    • Chair: J.D. Mininger, Provost
    • Faculty: Hristo Iliev
    • Staff: Tanya Papazova, Director Accreditation and Institutional Research; Yana Rangelova-Miron, Accreditation and Academic Staff Data Coordinator
    • US Accreditation: Robert Phillips, Margee Ensign
    Membership: Faculty: 6 members; Admin: 3:

    Evaluates and interprets US, Bulgarian or any other appropriate accreditation criteria, assists in the process of gathering information and opinions from all university constituencies, assists departments in the process of writing and editing their program accreditation reports, oversees the writing and editing of the US accreditation self‐study reports, and participates actively in the onsite visits of accreditation teams. Advises the Provost.

    The chairs of sub‐committees responsible for writing the narrative on each NEASC accreditation standard participate in the work of the Accreditation Committee during US accreditation cycles.

    • Chair: Kostadin Shopov
    • Faculty: Ali Termos, Nedyalko Delchev
    • Staff: Albena Kehayova, Sabina A. Wien, Despina Koleva, Dilyana Mileva, Karina Ulucheva, The Chair holds the sixth staff seat
    Membership: Faculty: 2, Staff: 4:

    To review applications for the fall and spring semesters. In determining admission, consideration is given to many different indications of a student’s qualities and abilities: scholastic achievements, performance on standardized tests, extracurricular activities, personal experience and leadership potential. The Admissions Committee evaluates applicants on the strength of the application as a whole. Committee deliberations are confidential.

    Meets weekly especially in the second semester

    • Chair: Antonia Arnautska
    • Staff: Angelina Angelova, Lyudmila Dzakova, Atanas Urdev, Rumyana Boshkilova, The chair holds the fifth staff seat
    • Additional Staff: Martin Georgiev, Georgi Lisichkov, Viktor Dimitrov, Yordanka Trenovska, Radosveta Miltcheva‐Castle, Katerina Obetsanova
    Membership: Staff: 5:

    Acts as a task force in the organization the Commencement ceremony and related Commencement events in May; coordinates between the different departments of the University engaged in the logistics of these events and the ceremony; facilitates and develops new ideas and practices to secure efficiency and safety of the organization of the Commencement weekend events.

    (The number of members to be confirmed, should be composed of members from Dining, Security, Facilities departments)

    • Co-Chair: Georgi Lisichkov
    • Staff: Georgi Lishkov, Todor Kehayov, Yana Simeonova, Velislava Stoitsova, Ilko Drenkov
    • Students: Damyan Blazhov, Gabriela Tsvetanova, Artem Baranchuk
    Membership: Staff: 5; Students: 3:

    The Dining Services Committee shall serve in an advisory capacity to the Department of Dining Services. It shall collect feedback and conduct or help conducting regular surveys on food quality and diversity of menus as well as other on services offered by the Dining Services. Based on these, to help identify legitimate needs of students, faculty, and staff with regard to Dining Services. To make recommendations for further improvement of dining services and to follow‐up on the implementation of the recommended improvements.

    A student co-char will be elected during the fist meeting of the committee. Meets every two weeks.

    • Chair: Sabina Wien
    • Faculty: Krasimir Spasov
    • Staff: Dilyana Mileva, Kostadin Shopov, Karina Ulucheva, Velina Zankova, Maya Parmakova, Albena Kehayova, The chair holds the eight staff seat
    • Students: Kaiden Myers, Sviatozara Kakhovska
    Membership: Faculty: 3; Staff: 8; Students: 2:

    Discusses strategies and makes recommendations that contribute to enrollment, retention, students’ experience and success through diverse and competitive program offerings. The Committee aims to create a culture of support and inclusiveness from the AUBG community for collaboration, engagement, creative thinking and consensus building. The Committee makes recommendations to the President.

    • Chair: Dilyana Mileva
    • Staff: Karina Ulucheva, Kostadin Shopov, Viktor Kastrev, Kristina Doneva, Borislav Tyulekov, Nadejda Michkova
    • Faculty: Felix Diaz, Ceyhun Elgin
    Membership: Faculty: 2, Staff: 7:

    The mission of the committee is to review admitted students applications as per the decision of Admissions Committee and award financial aid package to each entering student.

    • Chair: Radosveta Miltcheva-Castle
    • Faculty: J.C. Ross, Robert Phillips
    • Staff: Mariya Handzhiyska, Pavlina Pavlova, Ilko Drenkov, The chair holds the fourth staff seat
    Membership: Faculty: 2; Staff: 4:

    The Exchange and Study Abroad Programs Committee reviews and approves the outgoing applications of all AUBG exchange and study abroad programs in compliance with the university policies and the relevant requirements and rules of each specific program:

    ‐ for students: Erasmus Student Mobility for Study; Erasmus Student Traineeship Mobility; ISEP exchange; University of Maine exchange, SUNY Fredonia exchange and any other future exchange or study abroad program;

    ‐ for staff and faculty: Erasmus mobility for training; Erasmus mobility for teaching and any other future exchange or study abroad program.

    Meets on a regular basis.

    • Chair: Dilyana Mileva, VP Finance and Administration
    • Faculty: Ali Termos; Marenglen Berisha
    • Staff: Todor Kehayov, Asya Tsvetkova, Karina Ulucheva, Kostadin Shopov, Development Representative, J.D. Mininger, The chair holds the seventh staff seat
    • Students: Boris Pulev, Desislava Ivanova
    Membership: Faculty: 2, Staff: 7, Students: 2:

    Forecasts revenues and costs for the University and advises on the creation of the annual budget. The Committee advises the Vice President for Finance and Administration.